This year’s AGM took place on Tuesday 23 May 2012, at Community House, Easemore Road, Redditch.

The meeting was chaired by Alan Leadbeater (President), with Tony Jay (Chairman/Treasurer) and Jean Chalk (Secretary).

Norman Wheeler Memorial Award Winner: Roz Chalk

This annual award, dedicated to the memory of our late President Norman Wheeler, is presented at our AGM to a Society member who has, in one way or another, made an outstanding contribution to the Society in the past year.

We are delighted to announce that the twelfth deserving recipient of the Norman Wheeler Memorial Award is ROZ CHALK for her work organising the children appearing in The King And I.

Roz was part of the team that organised and ran the initial children’s audition; was at every single children’s rehearsal checking them in and out; was responsible for communicating with all the Mums and Dads, to ensure they knew everything they needed to know; was responsible for completing licenses for every child and liaising with the licensing authorities; and was responsible for organising the team of chaperones that were needed throughout the week of the show.

It was a time-consuming role, and not without its difficulties. But without it, we simply couldn’t have put the show on the stage. Thank you, Roz!

The photograph shows Roz Chalk (centre) receiving the trophy from last year’s winner Alan Bugg (left) and Society President Alan Leadbeater (right).

Committee 2012/13

The committee for this year as appointed at the AGM, and thereafter, are as follows:

  • President: ALAN LEADBEATER
  • Chairman (and Treasurer): TONY JAY
  • Secretary: JEAN CHALK
  • Committee Member: RYAN ALLEN
  • Committee Member: VICKY KHAWAJA
  • Committee Member: JEAN LEADBEATER
  • Committee Member: SAM SMITH
  • Committee Member: BOB TAYLOR
  • Committee Member: SUE TUDBERRY
  • Co-opted (Children’s Manager): ROZ CHALK
  • Co-opted (Ticket Secretary): ANN DUFFIN
  • Co-opted Member: FAISAL KHAWAJA