This year’s AGM took place on Tuesday 20 May 2014, at Community House, Easemore Road, Redditch.

The meeting was chaired by our new President, Bob Taylor, with Tony Jay (Chairman/Treasurer) and Jean Chalk (Secretary).

Alan Leadbeater Memorial Award Winner: David Steele

This was the first year that this new award was presented. It is in honour of our dear friend and President, Alan, who passed away in 2013.

It is the only award whose winner is chosen by our members attending the AGM. It is for their favourite performance of the year, from a previously announced list of nominees chosen by the committee. It is not necessarily for the the biggest role, or most prominent performer of the year – a debut, or a cameo performance could equally be the performance our members enjoyed the most.

We are delighted to announce that the first ever winner of this award is DAVID STEELE, who was chosen for his role as ‘The Man’ in our November 2013 production of ‘Whistle Down the Wind’.

The photo shows David Steele receiving the award from Jean Leadbeater, who was in attendance at the AGM to make the presentation.

Norman Wheeler Memorial Award Winner: Ryan Allen

This annual award, dedicated to the memory of our late President Norman Wheeler, is presented at our AGM to a Society member who has, in one way or another, made an outstanding contribution to the Society in the past year.

We are delighted to announce that the fourteenth deserving recipient of this award is RYAN ALLEN for all the considerable work he put into producing our segment of the Palace Theatre’s Centenary Show in September. We thank him sincerely for all the time and effort he put into this event.

The photograph shows Ryan Allen (right) receiving the trophy from last year’s winner Paul Finch (left) and Society President Bob Taylor (centre) after the result was announced at the AGM.

Life Memberships: David and Wendy Cruise

The highest honour the Society can bestow upon an individual is Life Membership of the Society.

Life Membership is not given often; and is not given lightly. It is not just awarded to people who have been with the Society for a long time – it is awarded to people who have made significant contributions to the Society over that time.

It is often said that there is nothing more important than selling tickets to our shows. The greatest production, the most beautiful singing, or the finest acting, all mean very little if people aren’t there to see it.

This year, we awarded Life Membership to a couple whose ticket sales, year in – year out, puts most others to shame. It doesn’t matter whether they are in the show or not. Their effort and determination to sell the maximum amount of tickets to every show never wavers.

Both have been members of the Society for many years. Strong supporters, too, of all our social events and other endeavours. And this support doesn’t change if they are not actually on stage.

For many years of loyal service and support to the Society, and for continued ticket selling efforts that we are incredibly grateful for, we were delighted to award Life Membership of the Society to David and Wendy Cruise.

Committee 2014/15

The committee for this year as appointed at the AGM, and thereafter, are as follows:

  • President: BOB TAYLOR
  • Chairman (and Treasurer): TONY JAY
  • Secretary: JEAN CHALK
  • Committee Member: JO BARRETT
  • Committee Member: ALASTAIR BUTLER
  • Committee Member: JEAN LEADBEATER
  • Committee Member: LOUISA PICKLES
  • Committee Member: JOY SIDAWAY
  • Committee Member: SAM SMITH
  • Co-opted (Marketing Manager): RYAN ALLEN
  • Co-opted (Children’s Manager): ROZ CHALK
  • Co-opted (Ticket Secretary): ANN DUFFIN