This year’s AGM took place on Tuesday 19 May 2015, at Community House, Easemore Road, Redditch.

The meeting was chaired by our President, Bob Taylor, with Tony Jay (Chairman/Treasurer) and Jean Chalk (Secretary).

Alan Leadbeater Memorial Award Winner: David Steele

This was the second year that this award was presented. It is in honour of our dear friend and President, Alan, who passed away in 2013.

It is the only award whose winner is chosen by our members attending the AGM. It is for their favourite performance of the year, from a previously announced list of nominees chosen by the committee. It is not necessarily for the the biggest role, or most prominent performer of the year – a debut, or a cameo performance could equally be the performance our members enjoyed the most.

We are delighted to announce that, for the second year running, the winner of this award is DAVID STEELE, who was chosen for his role as ‘Jesus’ in our November 2014 production of ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’.

The photo shows David Steele receiving the award from Jean Leadbeater, who was in attendance at the AGM to make the presentation.

Norman Wheeler Memorial Award Winner: Jean Chalk

This annual award, dedicated to the memory of our late President Norman Wheeler, is presented at our AGM to a Society member who has, in one way or another, made an outstanding contribution to the Society in the past year.

We are delighted to announce that the fifteenth deserving recipient of this award is JEAN CHALK for all the considerable effort she put into managing, adapting, mending, transporting and storing the huge array of costumes for our November production of ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’.

Many congratulations to Jean, who is also the first person to have won the Norman Wheeler Award twice.

The photograph shows Jean receiving the trophy from last year’s winner Ryan Allen (right) and Society President Bob Taylor (centre) after the result was announced at the AGM.

Committee 2015/16

The committee for this year as appointed at the AGM, and thereafter, are as follows:

  • President: BOB TAYLOR
  • Chairman (and Treasurer): TONY JAY
  • Secretary: JEAN CHALK
  • Committee Member: KELLY JOHNSON
  • Committee Member: JEAN LEADBEATER
  • Committee Member: PAUL MITCHELL
  • Committee Member: LOUISA PICKLES
  • Committee Member: JOY SIDAWAY
  • Committee Member: SAM SMITH
  • Co-opted (Marketing Manager): RYAN ALLEN
  • Co-opted (Children’s Manager): ROZ CHALK
  • Co-opted (Ticket Secretary): ANN DUFFIN