This year’s AGM took place on Tuesday 31 May 2016, at Community House, Easemore Road, Redditch.

The meeting was chaired by our President, Bob Taylor, with Tony Jay (Chairman/Treasurer) and Jean Chalk (Secretary).

Alan Leadbeater Memorial Award Winner: Lisa Lilwall

This was the third year that this award has been presented. It is in honour of our dear friend and President, Alan, who passed away in 2013.

It is the only award whose winner is chosen by our members attending the AGM. It is for their favourite performance of the year, from a previously announced list of nominees chosen by the committee. It is not necessarily for the the biggest role, or most prominent performer of the year – a debut, or a cameo performance could equally be the performance our members enjoyed the most.

We are delighted to announce that this year’s winner of the award is LISA LILWALL, who was chosen for her role as ‘Calamity’ in our November 2015 production of ‘Calamity Jane’.

The photo shows Lisa receiving the award from Jean Leadbeater, who was in attendance at the AGM to make the presentation.

Norman Wheeler Memorial Award Winner: Pauline Sherlock

This annual award, dedicated to the memory of our late President Norman Wheeler, is presented at our AGM to a Society member who has, in one way or another, made an outstanding contribution to the Society in the past year.

We are delighted to announce that the sixteenth deserving recipient of this award is PAULINE SHERLOCK.

Pauline has been associated with the Society for many years now, having been MD for one of our very early shows. But it is as our long-standing and exceptionally talented accompanist that Pauline is being rightly acknowledged on this occasion.

Not only do we thank her for playing so beautifully at rehearsals, and in concerts, and in our bands. But we thank her for always being so positive, and encouraging, as well as for her unending willingness to help bring out the best in everybody.

In addition to this, we were extremely grateful when Pauline took the rehearsals for our performance at Sam and Elly’s wedding, as well as playing for us on the day. Once again, something we couldn’t have done without her

Sadly, Pauline was unable to attend the AGM, so the award was subsequently presented to her at our first rehearsal for The Witches of Eastwick by President Bob Taylor and previous winner Jean Chalk.

Committee 2016/17

The committee for this year as appointed at the AGM, and thereafter, are as follows:

  • President: BOB TAYLOR
  • Chairman (and Treasurer): TONY JAY
  • Secretary: JEAN CHALK
  • Committee Member: KELLY JOHNSON
  • Committee Member: JEAN LEADBEATER
  • Committee Member: PAUL MITCHELL
  • Committee Member: LOUISA PICKLES
  • Committee Member: JOY SIDAWAY
  • Committee Member: SAM SMITH
  • Co-opted (Marketing Manager): RYAN ALLEN
  • Co-opted (Children’s Manager): ROZ CHALK
  • Co-opted (Ticket Secretary): ANN DUFFIN