This year’s AGM took place on Tuesday 16 May 2016, at Community House, Easemore Road, Redditch.

The meeting was chaired by our President, Bob Taylor, with Tony Jay (Chairman/Treasurer) and Jean Chalk (Secretary).

Alan Leadbeater Memorial Award Winner: Mark Williams

This was the fourth year that this award has been presented. It is in honour of our dear friend and President, Alan, who passed away in 2013.

It is the only award whose winner is chosen by our members attending the AGM. It is for their favourite performance of the year, from a previously announced list of nominees chosen by the committee. It is not necessarily for the the biggest role, or most prominent performer of the year – a debut, or a cameo performance could equally be the performance our members enjoyed the most.

We are delighted to announce that this year’s winner of the award is MARK WILLIAMS, who was chosen for his role as ‘Daryl van Horne’ in our November 2016 production of ‘The Witches of Eastwick’.

Norman Wheeler Memorial Award Winner: Kelly Mitchell

This annual award, dedicated to the memory of our late President Norman Wheeler, is presented at our AGM to a Society member who has, in one way or another, made an outstanding contribution to the Society in the past year.

We are delighted to announce that this year’s deserving recipient of this award is KELLY MITCHELL.

Kelly has made significant contributions since joining the committee a couple of years ago. But especially in the past year, we have seen the press and publicity of our shows planned to new heights. On her own initiative, Kelly has drawn up and developed an excellent publicity plan that has really made an impact in promoting our shows to the wider public.

As well as that, she has created, entirely through their own imagination and hard work, two excellent Murder Mystery Nights, this year and last, that have provided everyone who attended with such entertainment and fun. These things don’t just happen, of course, and the amount of effort put into developing and organising these nights is considerable.

And if that weren’t enough, when illness struck during last year’s show, and one of our principal cast members lost her voice, it was Kelly who stood in and valiantly performed the part from the wings (as well as continuing to play her own part in the show) thus saving the day.

The photo shows Kelly receiving the award from President, Bob Taylor.

Committee 2017/18

The committee for this year as appointed at the AGM, and thereafter, are as follows:

  • President: BOB TAYLOR
  • Chairman: TONY JAY
  • Treasurer: SAM SMITH
  • Secretary: JEAN CHALK
  • Committee Member: ROZ CHALK
  • Committee Member: TESSA LODGE
  • Committee Member: PAUL MITCHELL
  • Committee Member: LOUISA PICKLES
  • Committee Member: JOY SIDAWAY
  • Committee Member: SUE WILLIAMS
  • Co-opted (Marketing Manager): RYAN ALLEN
  • Co-opted (Publicity Manager): KELLY JOHNSON
  • Co-opted (Ticket Secretary): ANN DUFFIN
  • Honorary Member: JEAN LEADBEATER