This year’s AGM took place on Tuesday 7 May 2019, at Community House, Easemore Road, Redditch.

The meeting was chaired by our President, Bob Taylor, with Tony Jay (Chairman), Sam Smith (Treasurer) and Jean Chalk (Secretary).

Alan Leadbeater Memorial Award Winner: Paul Mitchell

This was the sixth year that this award has been presented. It is in honour of our dear friend and President, Alan, who passed away in 2013.

It is the only award whose winner is chosen by our members attending the AGM. It is for their favourite performance of the year, from a previously announced list of nominees chosen by the committee. It is not necessarily for the the biggest role, or most prominent performer of the year – a debut, or a cameo performance could equally be the performance our members enjoyed the most.

We are delighted to announce that this year’s winner of the award is PAUL MITCHELL, who was chosen for his role as ‘Bob Wallace’ in our November 2018 production of ‘White Christmas’.

The photo shows Paul receiving the award from Joy Sidaway, who was in attendance at the AGM to make the presentation.

Norman Wheeler Memorial Award Winner: Tessa Lodge

This annual award, dedicated to the memory of our late President Norman Wheeler, is presented at our AGM to a Society member who has, in one way or another, made an outstanding contribution to the Society in the past year.

We are delighted to announce that this year’s deserving recipient of this award is TESSA LODGE.

Tessa was recognised for taking on the role of Ticket Secretary. Doing things in her own style, and by developing her own procedures, Tessa took on this vitally important and time-consuming role despite going through some upheaval of her own.

Performing the job with eagerness, cheerfulness, accuracy and diligence we were delighted that she did the role so well, and has agreed to continue again this year.

The photo shows Tessa with her award at the AGM.

Special ‘Diamond’ NODA Awards

It is always special when somebody achieves a NODA Award for their long service to the Society. But this year (2019) marks the sixtieth anniversary since the re-formation of our Society, and as such we were particularly delighted to award 60 Year Diamond Bars to three of our founding members:

  • Mavis Brazil
  • Bob Taylor
  • Pearl Taylor

Many congratulations to them, and to all the other long service award recipients. Thank you all for being such important members of ROS.

Committee 2019/20

The committee for this year as appointed at the AGM, and thereafter, are as follows:

  • President: BOB TAYLOR
  • Chairman: TONY JAY
  • Treasurer: SAM SMITH
  • Secretary: JEAN CHALK
  • Committee Member: MATT BRIDGEWATER
  • Committee Member: ROZ CHALK
  • Committee Member: PAUL MITCHELL
  • Committee Member: JOY SIDAWAY
  • Co-opted (Marketing Manager): RYAN ALLEN-ROSE
  • Co-opted (Ticket Secretary): TESSA LODGE
  • Co-opted (Publicity Manager): KELLY MITCHELL
  • Honorary Member: ANN DUFFIN