This year’s AGM took place on Tuesday 21 May 2024, at Astwood Bank Primary School, Redditch.

Due too ill health, our President, Bob Taylor, could not attend so the meeting was chaired by Tony Jay (Chairman) with Sam Smith (Treasurer) and Jean Chalk (Secretary).

Alan Leadbeater Memorial Award Winner: Sophie Grogan and Laura Woodall

This award is presented in honour of our dear friend and President, Alan, who passed away in 2013.

It is the only award whose winner is chosen by our members attending the AGM. It is for their favourite performance of the year, from a previously announced list of nominees chosen by the committee. It is not necessarily for the the biggest role, or most prominent performer of the year – a debut, or a cameo performance could equally be the performance our members enjoyed the most.

We are delighted to announce that this year’s winners of the award are SOPHIE GROGAN and LAURA WOODALL, who were chosen for their shared role as Eva Peron in our November 2023 production of ‘Evita’

The photo shows Sophie and Laura with the award.

Sophie Grogan and Laura Woodall

Norman Wheeler Memorial Award Winner: Rachel Sproston

This annual award, dedicated to the memory of our late President Norman Wheeler, is presented at our AGM to a Society member who has, in one way or another, made an outstanding contribution to the Society in the past year.

We are delighted to announce that this year’s deserving recipient of this award is RACHEL SPROSTON.

Rachel joined the committee last year, and immediately made an impact by bringing her years of experience and knowledge of other societies to bear, and taking a leading role on the marketing sub-committee, who came up with more new ideas and ways to publicise our shows.

In addition, she personally brought in nearly £500 worth of sponsorship deals for us last year.

The photo shows Rachel with her award at the AGM.

Rachel Sproston

Life Membership of the Society: Paula Lacey

The highest honour the Society can bestow upon an individual is Life Membership of the Society.

Life Membership is not given often; and is not given lightly. It is not just awarded to people who have been with the Society for a long time – it is awarded to people who have made significant contributions to the Society over that time.

We are delighted to award Life Membership to PAULA LACEY

Paula has been part of the society for decades, and has played a vital role on the production team of all our recent shows. For her talent, dedication, determined manner and superb choreography, which has made such an impact in our shows, we are delighted to present this honour in grateful thanks for everything she has contributed to ROS over the years.

Paula Lacey

Other Awards

Most Enthusiastic Newcomer to the society was awarded to MATT BROWN.

NODA Long Service Awards were given this year to:

  • Paula Lacey – 40 Year Silver Bar
  • Rachel Sproston – 40 Year Badge
  • Gill Rowland – 30 and 35 Year Silver Bar
  • Steve Sidaway – 20 Year Badge
  • Lisa Smith – 10 Year Badge
  • Deborah Mitchell – 10 Year Badge
  • Paul Mitchell – 10 Year Badge

Many congratulations to them all. Thank you all for being continuing members of ROS.

Committee 2024/25

Due to ill health, President Bob Taylor stood down after a decade in the position. It will be for the new committee to elect a new President at their first meeting after the AGM.

The committee for this year as appointed at the AGM, and thereafter, are as follows:

  • Chairman: TONY JAY
  • Treasurer: SAM SMITH
  • Secretary: JEAN CHALK
  • Committee Member: MATT BROWN
  • Committee Member: TESSA LODGE
  • Committee Member: JOY SIDAWAY
  • Committee Member: STEVE SIDAWAY
  • Committee Member: RACHEL SPROSTON
  • Advisory Member: RYAN ALLEN-ROSE
  • Honorary Member: ANN DUFFIN